District    |    Eastside Elementary    |    Northside Elementary    |    Southside Elementary   |   Westside Elementary    |    HC Middle    |    HC High    |    Classroom Blogs

If menu fails
to load,
click here
for site map. 

 Search for:

Harrison County



         Site Map

Site maintained
 by Billie Jo Gifford,
 HCHS Library Media Specialist.
 Copyright © 2011
 All Rights Reserved
 Revised: 04/17/2017
 Contact the LMS

Hit Counter

Harrison County High School
Site Based Decision Making Council

2016-17 SBDM members are:

Jenna Landacre- jenna.landacre@harrison.kyschools.us  
Roger Hurst-
Christine Garnett-
Amanda Denniston- wrightangusfarm@outlook.com
Kimberly Smiley Darnell- ksd352@gmail.com

Chairperson Amy Coleman-

  Susan Yearsley -SBDM secretary- susan.yearsley@harrison.kyschools.us

Parent Nomination Form- Click Here

Site Based Decision Making Council Parent Elections will take place on Monday, April 24, 2017 from 7:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. in the HCHS front office. All parents of 2017-2018 HCHS students are welcome to participate in casting your vote. The legal definition of parent (KRS 160.345.1.c) allows biological parents, stepparents, foster parents or persons who have court ordered legal custody to be nominated or to vote. According to the law, parents who are nominated or who wish to vote must have a child “pre-registered to attend” the school for next year. If a child is on Grade 8 this year and will attend our school next year the parents of that child would be eligible to be nominated, or vote in the election for the next year’s school SBDM council. Parents of 12th graders who are exiting our school may nominate but cannot vote for candidates.

Nominees for Site Based Decision Making Council at Harrison County High School for 2017-2018 are:

I am interested in being elected to the HCHS Site Based Decision Making Council because I like to take part in the decisions being made about my child’s education and that of his peers. I believe that a parent representative can play an integral part in considering budgetary needs, parent engagement, school discipline, safety, and other important issues. I feel that the school needs a voice other than that of teachers and administrators. It is an honor and privilege to be elected.

Thank you for your consideration,

Meghan Boland


In the present climate of public education, the bureaucracy has forgotten that our children are more than test scores. We, the parents and guardians of this generation, have an obligation to ensure their education is focused on an exceptional academic foundation to allow them to navigate the ever changing world.

As a member of the Site Based Decision Making Council at HCHS, I will be an aggressive advocate of the interests of parents and guardians when it comes to our children’s education. Our children’s future will be determined by the opportunities they are exposed to at school. Parents need to be secure in the knowledge that their ideas and priorities will be accurately represented when the bureaucracy loses sight of our children’s best interests.

The last 16 years of my life have been dedicated to serving as a lawyer, primarily in Harrison, Nicholas and Bourbon counties, a husband to Alyssa and a father to Marshall (9th grade) and Mary (6th grade). My journey allows me the knowledge of what happens when our children are not adequately prepared for the “real world”! It is my goal to ensure Harrison County High School is providing a well-rounded education to all our children.

Thank you for your consideration and your vote.

Brian Canupp


My name is Kimberly Smiley Darnell. I was born in Harrison County and graduated from Harrison County High School. I have served as parent representative at the elementary, middle school, and high school levels.

Having previously served on SBDMC, I understand and have witnessed the importance of having a council comprised of parents, educators, and administration. We all have the common interest of educating the students of Harrison County and help them to graduate and be successful in whatever they choose to do after high school. Each student deserves to be given the opportunity to succeed, and that is the primary goal of SBDMC.

My husband, Pat Darnell, and I have two children. Emma is graduating from HCHS in May of 2017 and William will be entering his sophomore year in the fall of 2017. I work as a Clinical Laboratory Scientist on the weekends.

If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them. If I don’t know the answer, I will find out.

Kimberly Darnell


Hi, my name is Amanda “Mandy” Denniston. I wish to add my name to the Harrison County High School SBDM council ballot for the 2017-2018 school year. I have served as a parent representative on the High School

SBDM Council this past year and on the Middle School SBDM Council for three years. I have taken great pleasure being involved with the schools. My desire is to continue that participation at the High School, with my daughter Madelynn, being a sophomore next year. It is very important as a parent, to be involved and informed in our children’s educational pathways. I am a 1996 graduate of Harrison County High, a citizen of Harrison County, and employed by my father on our family farm. My husband, Chris, and I live in the Connersville area. Besides Madelynn, we have a son, Logan, that is a 6th grader at Middle School. I’m very passionate about being active in our community. I served as the PTO President for 4 years at Southside, a parent representative for the Family Resource Advisory Council, and on the NTI Committee. Currently, I’m the secretary for the Harrison Co. Beef Cattle Association and a current board member. My mother is a retired Harrison County teacher and my sister is a Guidance Counselor at Southside. I definitely have the utmost respect for all teachers and other personnel in the school system. I look forward to being involved and helping serve as a council member at the High School next year.

Thanks for your support,

Amanda W. Denniston



free web tracker